## WheelsUnplugged

## Mitsubishi Cedia claims top honours at INRC, Nashik



Sirish Chandran recieves Group N winners trophy from FMSCI president Vicky Chandhok

Legendary rally car Mitsubishi Cedia Sports took yet another rally by storm as it made almost a clean sweep of all the top honours at the Rally of Maharashtra, Round 1 of Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India's (FMSCI) Speed Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) 2011, that ended here on June 5.

HM-Mitsubishi sponsored Team Overdrive with reputed rallyist Sirish Chandran at the helm put up an outstanding performance by finishing first in the category Group N (unmodified) 2000cc class and stood overall third. Chandran, who drove the mean machine for the second season of INRC, said, "Winning the Group N class and finishing third overall in only our second season of rallying feels fantastic. All credit goes to our Mitsubishi Cedia Sports that worked like a dream. Not only was she amazingly quick throughout the weekend resulting in our victory margin being over three minutes but, more importantly, she soaked in the tremendous beating from the unforgiving tarmac without a single hiccup bringing us home safely and to the top step of the podium. A big thank you to Hindustan Motors-Mitsubishi and Red Rooster Performance for a brilliant car and also to Bosch Power Tools and MRF Tyres. We now look forward to the next round of the Speed INRC in Chennai in the last weekend of June."

Mitsubishi Cedia has to its credit, 34 trail-blazing victories in World Rally Championships and Federation Internationale de l' Automobile circuits. No wonder, of the 28 vehicles that took part in the rally, as many as 11 were Mitsubishi Cedias. The Speed Indian National Rally Championship has 5 categories viz. the Gypsy Cup, 1400 Star Cup, 1600-cc Group N, 2000-cc Group N (all Mitsubishi Cedias) and 2000-cc Group N+ (all heavily modified Mitsubishi Cedias). And finally there is the overall classification.

In the final classification, the results are as below:

- 1. Gaurav Gill / Musa Sherif (MRF) (Mitsubishi Cedia Group N+) 1:20:34.0
- 2. Lohitt Urs / PVS Murthy (MRF) (Mitsubishi Cedia Group N+) 1:28:17.0
- 3. Sirish Chandran / Nikhil Pai (OVERDRIVE) (Mitsubishi Cedia Group N) 1:31:17.0

2000cc Group N

1. Sirish Chandran / Nikhil Pai 1:31:17.0

- Shailender Hegde / Prajval Pai 1:34:18.0
  Rahul Kanthraj / Vivek Bhatt 1:34:41.0

http://www.wheelsunplugged.com/ViewNews.aspx?newsid=10146